Cycling the Via de la Plata 2014

Lucky me. My wife has kindly (and reluctantly) granted me permission to take a break to cycle the Via de la Plata (one of the Camino de Santiago routes) this year.

I’ll board a flight to Seville on 11-May, and spend 8 full days covering 1,000Km route, alone, up to Santiago de Compostella, before flying back to the UK on 20-May. I can’t wait.

This will be my first long-distance bike adventure, and the first time I will have boarded a flight with a bike. There’s a bucketload of stuff I don’t know about this kind of thing, so I’m going to use this page to pose questions, and answer them over the next couple of months…. such as:

How do I get a bike on a plane?

Where will I find a bike box in Santiago de Compostella?

How many miles should I cover each day?

What kit will I need?

What bike luggage is best for this type of adventure?

One response to “Cycling the Via de la Plata 2014

  1. This looks like a great trip! I’m planning on heading back to Spain this summer and may follow this route in the opposite direction, so will keep a close eye on how you find it. Is it mostly off road?

    As far as finding bike boxes in Santaigo go – I used Velocipedo (www.elvelocipedo.com) on Rúa de San Pedro. For a reasonable fee they will pack up your bike and give it to a local taxi firm to store overnight (if needed), who will then bring it with them when they come to pick you up to take you to the airport on the day of your flight. Really handy, and means if you have a day or two in Santiago, you don’t need to worry about keeping the bike somewhere. The only downsides are that, if I recall correctly, they’re not open on Sundays, and only for a few hours on Saturday. This kind of scuppered my plans as it meant I needed to arrive in Santago a couple of days earlier than I’d planned. Worth dropping them an email a couple of weeks in advance to make sure they can fit you in.

    Have a great trip, hope to see some words and pictures here.

Leave a Reply

